As you will come to know me better you will realize that I believe music to be one of the most powerful things in the world. For thousands of years people have been using music to praise their God. For nations that don’t have freedom of speech, some people have used music as a vessel to bring forth radical ideas on politics. For many, music can serve as therapy or inspiration. Music can define one’s self and music can tear people apart. Which is why I decided to start my blog with lyrics. Probably not the most powerful of all, but simply some that have spoken to me recently. In my many quests to truly understand love, I feel that this was exactly what I needed to hear at the time I heard it.

“He put it on me, I put it on,
Like there was nothing wrong.
It didn’t fit,
It wasn’t right.
Wasn’t just the size.
They say you know,
When you know.
I don’t know.

I didn’t feel
The fairytale feeling, no.
Am I a stupid girl
For even dreaming that I could.

If it’s not like the movies,
Thats how it should be, yeah.
When he’s the one,
I’ll come undone,
And my world will stop spinning
And that’s just the beginning, yeah.

Snow white said when I was young,
“One day my prince will come.”
So I wait for that date.
They say its hard to meet your match,
Find my better half.
So we make perfect shapes.
If stars don’t align,
If it doesn’t stop time,
If you cant see the sign,
Wait for it.
One hundred percent,
With every penny spent.
He’ll be the one that,
Finishes your sentences.

If it’s not like the movies,
Thats how it should be.
When he’s the one,
He’ll come undone,
And my world will stop spinning,
And thats just the beginning.

‘Cause I know you’re out there,
And your, your love came for me.
It’s a crazy idea that you were made,
Perfectly for me you’ll see.

Just like the movies.
That’s how it will be.
Cinematic and dramatic with the perfect ending.
It’s not like the movies,
But that’s how it will be.
When he’s the one,
You’ll come undone,
And your world will stop spinning,
And it’s just the beginning.”

That song is Katy Perry’s “Not like the movies”. And several of all my blogs will further explain why this song spoke to me so much. It is going to be a series of several posts called “My life as a Fairytale”. I am going to set it up like a book with chapters. I don’t know how many chapters there will be because it is going to be based on my life experiences. Enjoy!

